FirstLine Names 2024 Big Chief Winners

Every year on the Friday before Mardi Gras, FirstLine Schools celebrates a new cohort of Big Chief honorees. Created in 2015, the Big Chief Awards are named after former FirstLine leaders who embodied the values of Service, Learning, Results, Collaboration, Fun, and Safekeeping.

Big Chiefs reflect those who exemplify FirstLine’s most sacred values and inspire us to exhibit courage as we work toward educational equity for all children in New Orleans.

Big Chief nominations are reviewed by Big Chiefs from the previous year. Factors taken into account in judging are the number of years the nominee has been employed at FirstLine, the number of nominations the employee received this year and in previous years, and nominations that give specific, concrete examples of how the employee embodies the FirstLine commitment. We are so excited to celebrate this year’s Big Chief winners! You can click on their names below to see why they were selected. You can click on each winner’s name below to see their Big Chief video. 

(Pictured L to R:)

Big Chief Guardian Evlisha Offray

Big Chief of Service Karen Boudreaux

Big Chief of Learning Danielle Wright

Big Chief of Fun Jasmine Roussell

Big Chief of Collaboration Rhonda Christmas

Big Chief of Results Donnequa White-Vaughn

We also celebrate those in our community who support our work at FirstLine and within our school communities. Congratulations to this year’s Network Partner Award winner, teachNOLA, and the School Partner Award winner, Chapter One Tutoring.